InformationBodyThis article explains how to close an Emma account and provides a list of steps to take before closing your account. Closing your account is a simple process that is predominantly done via email. In this article Important things to know about closing an account How to submit a cancellation request 5 things to do BEFORE you close your Emma account If you change your mind and want to come back to Emma Additional resources Important things to know about closing an account Subaccounts If you are a subaccount user, we cannot help you close your account. Only the account Parent or a Manager* user can help you close your subaccount. If you're not sure who to reach out to, we recommend that you contact your organization's IT team, Support team, or your primary point of contact there. ⒾThe Manager role is not available to Essentials accounts. Contracts Account cancellations must align with the customer’s contract, so we will not be able to close your account if you are in the middle of your contract. Timing All account closure requests are required to be submitted in writing via email. The notice must be made 30 days prior to your contract term end date or the account will auto-renew unless otherwise stated on your agreement. How to submit a cancellation request You can start a cancellation request directly from this page with a little help from our virtual assistant. Simply click on the Get Support icon in the bottom right corner to get started. Just be sure to opt for the email contact option over the phone number so that it can count as your notice. After we receive a request to close or cancel an account, a representative from our Billing or Account Management team will be in touch with you to discuss the details. However, there are some aspects that you should handle before you close your account. 5 things to do BEFORE you close your Emma account It's important to remember that closing your account will end all activity, meaning it will cancel any scheduled mailings and stop all automated workflows from sending. Once you close your Emma account, any recurring billing charges will also be canceled at the end of your contract or billing term. But before you close your account, we highly suggest you do the following things, as you will not be able to access your account once the cancellation has gone into effect. Export your contacts: We recommend that you include contacts in the Opt-out and Error statuses in your export, because it is very useful if you're moving to a different email service provider.Export your mailing responses: If there are certain mailings that you want to preserve response data for, you’ll want to export the recipient activity data for those campaigns beforehand.Remove any public-facing signup forms from your website, blog, or social media.Deactivate any automations in your account.Cancel any scheduled mailings in your account. If you change your mind and want to come back to Emma If you change your mind within 30 days after you have closed your Emma account, we can reactivate it for you. If you worked with an account manager to close your account at the time of renewal, then you can reach back out to that person to discuss reactivating your account. If you worked with our Billing team, you can contact them again at billing@myemma.com to discuss reactivating your account. ⒾAfter 30 days, all sent mailings, response history, templates, and contact data will be deleted from our servers. Please be aware that this cannot be reversed or undone and there is no backup of the content. Additional resources How to export contacts to a CSV fileMailing response data: ExportsHow to create and edit a signup formHow to create and edit a lightbox formHow to send or schedule a campaignHow to use the automation workflow builderTitleSteps to closing your Emma accountURL NameClose-your-account